top of page

Design and Development #2

Starting where I left off I found it hard to come up with any idea to what the middle part of the ship would take shape. I tired many different shapes, regular cubes, sphere, triangles before coming to this.

I found a nice shape that contrasted nicely the back thrusters. The idea of this piece that residents may keep their bounty safe in the bottom middle areas of the ship, from attackers. I made this piece by using the mirror modifier in blender which made it easier on me as I only had model half of it.

This ship needed to have the style and attitude of a real space thugs ship, the best way to do that was to keep up the stark differentiation between the main foundations of the ship. I felt the ship needed extra length towards the front so the next piece was pretty simple.

Just a rounded off oblong, looks like were getting somewhere. I happy with the results but I need to see some extra detail to really see where I'm heading. I remove the front piece to detail the middle area, I see that a short front piece actually looks much better then the large extruded oblong shape I had before and I decide to remodel it to suit.

The short front piece really helps with scale and keeps the ship within my requirements of being a small outlawish freighter ship. It looks more natural than the protruding front piece I had before and visually it leads the eye from the large thrusters to the front-most point of the ship.

To get the ideas for the different details I hit up the concept art for another round.

This piece had alot of small details I loved and was originally why my first mockup designs where so squished and vertically modeled before I swapped it out for a more traditional, horizontal shaped ship

Adding vents, holes, covers, and random pieces of metal to add to the variety of the ship. Its looking a little less boring now and I can see finally see some character to this ship.

Oh and I added guns to the side and front so that if attacked you'd be able to fight back.

Its time to make a high-poly model attach model the floating geometry to the model


RECENT POST
bottom of page